Skip to content

99. Beck – Guess I’m Doing Fine

16/09/2009

99

How things change. As the nineties drew to a close, Beck’s magpie tendencies and sense for the postmodern made him one of the hippest men in pop; he’d found his Midas touch, had one eye on your girlfriend and the other on Prince’s throne. And then, from nowhere, comes this crisis of confidence. “I’m doing fine”, he guesses, with uncharacteristic self-doubt, and plays down his misery by insisting that it’s only tears he’s crying, only lies he’s been living. But evidence to the contrary is plentiful in the slow, sober melody, funereal piano and marching drums. Given its sentiment and context, Guess I’m Doing Fine should be an uncomfortably confessional listen, but somehow the regret is made warm, and the lament cathartic. An admission song has seldom sounded so humanising.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 17/09/2009 9:50 am

    I like it a lot. It reminds me of Wichita Lineman, which is a high praise indeed. Never heard Beck sing like that before… has [slight, very slight] hints of Chris Cornell at his croony best.

    You’ll hate that latter reference, I suspect…

  2. Simon permalink
    17/09/2009 5:13 pm

    Good tunes so far. I am planning to play each day’s song as I have breakfast in the morning. It’s working out well for me at the moment.

    I’d have this song higher myslef. It’s one of my all timers*

    There is something about the lyric ‘There’s a blue bird at my window, I can’t hear the song he sings’ that gets me every time. Amazing.

    *said without necessary thought

  3. Jen permalink
    25/09/2009 8:37 pm

    Hear hear

Leave a Reply

